Carreening through space and time, through pyretic dreams and dimentions. Thundering headfirst into the horrors of the universe.

"Ingress" Hibernauts debut album out now! released May 3, 2023

Digital self release on all platforms, physical release will be later this year. Available on Bandcamp now.



Hailing from Salt Lake City, Utah, United States. Hibernaut arose in a somnambulistic state in 2020 when Dave Jones began writing songs on guitar, a switch from years playing bass in Subrosa, Dwellers, Oxcross etc. As well as switching to guitar he also began writing lyrics and singing. In 2021 Dave played the songs for his long time friend and bandmate Zach Hatsis (Dwellers, Subrosa, Laughter, etc), who jumped right in and began adding his unique powerful drumming to the songs. Soon after Josh Dupree came in on bass with the thundering low end the band needed and the trio began regular rehersals. Demo recording began that year and they soon asked Joey Toscano (Iota, Dwellers) to fill a sonic void with his blisteringly psychedelic leads, thus, Hibernaut was complete. Recording studio dates were booked with Andy Patterson in 2022 and a week was spent laying down the bones of eleven tracks. In the following months all the extra bits were added and the album was mixed and mastered. The album entitled "Ingress" is the progeny of all the time and work put into Hibernaut. Song writing never stopped and Hibernaut is working on their next album.

"Ingress" album artwork

Hibernaut asked the prolific Jordan Barlow to create artwork for the album based on the music and lyrics, which he called "Charmingly Lovecraftian". The result is a fantastic piece, based mainly on songs "Lantern Eyed" and "Spherical",  laden with concepts and symbolism exploring Hibernauts underlying themes throughout the album.


Hibernaut wanted the advancing sonic wall that is the music, no matter the gait, crawling, trudging or galloping, to push and pull listeners ever onward. Dave Jones' riffs are sent swirling from the primordial sludge of the pineal and his gutteral vocals, full of loathing and disgust, are urgent and aggrieved. Josh Dupree's bass slithers through tracks like Sloe and Nor'easter creating an undulating sense of movement. Zach Hatsis' drumming thunders down the tracks and climbs steep grades to open upon vast barren plains, creating a dimensional feel to the songs. Joey Toscano's leads weave throughout the songs bringing fevered texture and wavering visions of audible darkness and light. Coagulation of these elements resulted in the music for the recording of "Ingress", Hibernauts debut album.


Dave Jones' tales of terror deal in death, dimesional existance (or non-existance), the psyche and even the hated wind as heard in Nor'easter. A constant lyrical theme aluded to throught the album  "as above, so below", life, death and the connection between all things. His goal in writing is to inspire vivid imagery and a feeling of presence as though the listeners were in a waking nightmare.

Josh Dupree (bass) Dave Jones (vocals and rhythm guitar) Zach Hatsis (drums)

Joey Toscano (lead guitar)